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 May 7, 2014 
 
 
TO COUNTY ASSESSORS: 
 

EFFECTIVE ADMINISTRATIVE PRACTICES – 
DISABLED VETERANS'  EXEMPTION  

 
The Disabled Veterans' Exemption is one of the most complex property tax exemptions to 
administer. A variety of documents, filing and qualification dates, exemption limits, assessed 
values, and ownership interests must be reviewed when processing the exemption. Additionally, 
exemption amounts and income ceilings for the low-income provision of the exemption change 
annually. To ensure compliance with the California Constitution and the applicable statutes of 
the Disabled Veterans' Exemption and to provide equal and consistent treatment to all claimants, 
assessors' staff must have a working knowledge of the exemption. 

Assessment practices surveys completed during the past few years have discovered an increasing 
number of issues for the Disabled Veterans' Exemption topic, resulting in numerous 
recommendations in the final reports. Although there are a number of resources currently 
available1 to assist assessors' staff in the proper administration of this exemption, we have 
compiled the more frequent recommendations and offer guidance on the processing procedures 
related to these recommendations. This letter addresses the following issues: 

Proration of the Exemption Honorable Discharge  
Timely Filing of Initial Claim Partial Interest Ownership 
Late Filing of Initial Claim USDVA Rating Letter 
Late Filing of Low-Income Exemption Proof of Low Income 

Annual Claim 
If you have any questions regarding the Disabled Veterans' Exemption, please contact the 
County-Assessed Properties Division at 1-916-274-3350. 

 Sincerely, 

 /s/ David J. Gau 

 David J. Gau 
 Deputy Director 
 Property and Special Taxes Department 
DJG:mlw 

                                                 
1 Resources include annotated letters or other legal opinions, Letters To Assessors, BOE website information, 
assessor in-house processing manual/guidelines, and information distributed at the classes presented by the 
California Assessors' Administrative Services Association Education Committee. 
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Proration of the Exemption 

Prorate the exemption as of the date the property qualifies. 
Terminate the exemption as of the date property no longer qualifies. 

References: Revenue and Taxation Code2 sections 205.5, 276.1(b), 276.2 (b), 276.3 and 279 

Statutes provide for the Disabled Veterans' Exemption to be granted as of the date a property is 
eligible. The date a property becomes eligible for the exemption is based upon one of the 
following four event dates, whichever is later: 

1. The effective date that a veteran receives a 100 percent disability rating or is awarded 
compensation at the 100 percent rate due to unemployability, as determined by the United 
States Department of Veteran Affairs (USDVA). 

2. The date a qualified claimant purchases a property that constitutes a principal place of 
residence, provided occupancy is established within 90 days of purchase. 

3. The date a qualified claimant establishes residency at a property already owned by the 
claimant (for example, moves into a residence that was previously used as a rental 
property or moves into a residence after 90 days of purchase). 

4. The date a veteran died as a result of a service-connected injury or disease (for a 
surviving spouse claimant). 

The Disabled Veterans' Exemption does not require qualification as of a lien date, as in the case 
of many other exemptions, whereby the exemption is then granted for the ensuing year. Such 
practice would deny the full amount of the exemption to which the claimant is entitled. If a 
property qualifies after a lien date, the assessor must apply the exemption by prorating the 
exemption from the date of qualification to the end of that fiscal year, which may require a roll 
correction. Similarly, the exemption cannot be granted for a period earlier than the effective date 
of the exemption. Granting an exemption for the entire fiscal year when a claimant is only 
eligible to receive a prorated amount would allow a benefit for a period of time for which the 
claimant does not qualify. 

The exemption must be terminated as of the date the property is no longer used as a principal 
place of residence regardless of whether the claimant sells the property or retains ownership. 
Terminating the exemption requires an escape assessment from the date of disqualification to the 
end of that fiscal year. Allowing the exemption to continue after the date the property is no 
longer the claimant's principal place of residence would provide the property greater exemption 
than permitted by statutes. Since not all counties have elected to participate in the Disabled 
Veterans' and Homeowners' Exemption Match and Multiple Claims Listing,3 it is possible for a 
claimant to receive double exemption if the first exemption is not terminated promptly upon 
becoming ineligible and a second property, located in another county, is granted exemption as of 
the qualification date. 

                                                 
2 All statutory references are to the Revenue and Taxation Code unless specified otherwise. 
3 www.boe.ca.gov/proptaxes/homeexem.htm.  

http://www.boe.ca.gov/proptaxes/homeexem.htm
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To prorate the exemption for only the days the property is qualified, the assessor must determine 
the ratio of the actual number of days the property is qualified in the fiscal year to the total 
number of days in the fiscal year. The ratio is then applied to either the maximum scheduled 
exemption amount or the assessed value of the property, whichever is lower. 

Examples:4 

 
Event and 

Facts 

 
Date of Event 

Days 
Remaining  in 

Fiscal Year 

 
Proration 

Calculations 

Purchased 
principal place 
of residence 
 

Assessed value  
is greater than 
exemption 

August 22, 2012 
 
 

Claim filed 
September 1, 2012 
(timely—on or 
before next 
following lien date) 

313 days 
 

 

August 22, 2012- 
June 30, 2013 

313/365 = .8575 x $100,000 
=  $85,750 eligible exemption  
    for  2012-2013 fiscal year 
 

Exemption may be applied to a 
positive supplemental and/or 
by correcting the current roll 

Veteran rated 
100 percent 
disabled 
 
Assessed value 
is $90,000, 
which is lower 
than basic 
exemption 
 

August 22, 2012 

 

 
Claim filed 
September 1, 2012 
(timely—on or 
before next 
following lien date) 

313 days 
 

313/365 = .8575 x $90,000  
= $77,175 eligible exemption 
   for 2012-2013 fiscal year 
 
Exemption applied by 
correcting the current roll 
 
 

                                                 
4 For simplicity, in all examples the original base amounts are used with no inflation indexing—$100,000 is used for 
the basic exemption and $150,000 for the low-income exemption. 



4 
 

Timely Filing of Initial Claim 

Grant the full eligible amount of exemption when claims are filed timely. 
References: Sections 276.1 and 276.2(a) 

When property becomes eligible after the lien date, a timely initial claim is one that is filed the 
later of 90 days after the date on which the property became eligible or on or before the next 
following lien date.5 However, the USDVA is frequently delayed in making their evaluation, and 
a veteran may not receive a disability rating letter until a year or more after the effective date of 
disability.6 When this occurs, a timely claim is one that is filed the later of 90 days after the date 
of receipt of the disability rating letter or on or before the next following lien date. Consequently, 
a retroactive exemption, with no reduction in the exemption for prior years, is available as of the 
effective date of disability. 

Examples: 

Event and 
Facts 

 
Date of Event 

 
Timely Filing 

Purchased 
principal 
place of 
residence 

April 22, 2012 

Effective date of disability is 
August 1, 2011 

April 22, 2012 – January 1, 2013 

Receipt of 
USDVA letter 
Property was 
purchased in 
June 1989 

November 1, 2012 
 
Effective date of disability 
and exemption is  
August 1, 2011 

November 1, 2012 – January 30, 2013 
 
Within 90 days after receipt of letter 

                                                 
5 The February 15 deadline date provided in section 276 is not applicable for a timely initial claim. 
6 It can take the USDVA a number of years to make a final rating determination of disability, especially in the case 
where the veteran has appealed an earlier determination. 
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Late Filing of Initial Claim 

Grant partial exemption when claims are not timely filed. 
References: Section 276(a) and 276.2(a) 

When an initial claim is not filed timely, as previously described, the assessor may only grant 
85 percent of the eligible exemption for all prior years. For the current year in which the initial 
claim is filed—depending upon when the claim is filed—the following portion of the exemption 
is available: 

• 100 percent – claim filed on or before February 15 

• 90 percent – claim filed after February 15 but on or before December 10 

• 85 percent – claim filed any time after December 10 

Examples: 

Event and 
Facts 

 
Date of Event 

Initial Claim  
Filed Late 

 
Exemption Available  

Purchased April 22, 2012 May 28, 2014 85% for 2011-12 (prorated) 
principal 85% for 2012-13 
place of 85% for 2013-14 residence  

90% for 2014-15 (filed after Feb 15) 

Receipt of 
USDVA 
letter 

May 1, 2013 February 1, 2014 85% for 2012-13 (prorated) 
85% for 2013-14 
100% for 2014-15 (filed before Feb 15) Effective date of disability is 

August 1, 2012 

Receipt of 
USDVA 
letter 

May 1, 2013  December 21, 2014 85% for 2012-13 (prorated) 
85% for 2013-14 
85% for 2014-15 (filed after Dec 10) Effective date of disability is 

August 1, 2012 
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Late Filing of Low-Income Exemption Annual Claim 

For annual renewal of the low-income Disabled Veterans' Exemption, calculate the reduced 
exemption only on the amount over the basic exemption when the claim is filed late. 
Reference: Section 276(b) 

The basic exemption only requires a one-time initial filing while the low-income exemption 
requires annual filing in order for claimants to attest that their household income for the prior 
year does not exceed the current income limitations. It is possible for claimants to qualify for the 
low-income exemption for some years but not for other years as income may fluctuate. When the 
low-income exemption is sought for any particular year, a claim must be filed on or before 
February 15 to be considered a timely filing. If a claim for the low-income exemption is not 
filed, the exemption should be reduced to the basic amount for the year; however, some assessors 
will contact the claimant to ensure that the property is still his/her principal place of resident or 
to remind the claimant to file the annual claim. This procedure will provide information as to 
whether the exemption should be removed, changed to the basic exemption, or will result in a 
late filing of the claim. 

For late filing renewal of a low-income Disabled Veterans' Exemption, the available exemption 
is 90 or 85 percent of the amount under a timely filing. However, the late filing provisions do not 
apply to the entire amount of the low-income exemption but only on the amount that exceeds the 
basic exemption. Since renewal of the basic exemption does not require annual filing, it is not 
subject to any late filing provisions. Thus, a qualified low income claimant is also entitled to 
continually receive 100 percent of the basic exemption with only the additional amount over the 
basic exemption subject to any late filing provisions. 

The following is the available exemption for a low income annual claim based on the filing date:  

•  On or before February 15 – 100 percent  

• After February 15 but on or before December 10 – 90 percent of the  amount that exceeds 
the basic exemption plus the basic exemption  

• Any time after December 10 of the claim year –  85 percent of the  amount that exceeds 
the basic exemption plus the basic exemption  

Examples: 

Low-Income 
Exemption Annual 
Claim Filed Late 

 
Assessed 

Value 

 

Exemption Available  

May 15, 2014 

Filed between 
February 16 – 
December 10 

$200,000 $150,000 low-income exemption - $100,000 basic 
exemption  

 = $50,000 x .90 = $45,000 

$100,000 + $45,000 = $145,000 exemption available 

December 29, 2014 
Filed after 
December 10 

$130,000 $130,000 eligible exemption - $100,000 basic exemption
 = $30,000 x .85 = $25,500 
$100,000 + $25,500 = $125,500  exemption available 
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Honorable Discharge 

Require documentation that the veteran has been honorably discharged. 
References: Section 205.5 (b)(1) and California Constitution, Article XIII, Section 3(o)(1) 

The claimant must provide proof of honorable discharge by submitting some type of official 
document such as a DD-214 (military discharge papers) or an acknowledgement from the 
USDVA on its rating determination letter. The USDVA has indicated that a veteran typically 
would not be eligible to receive a 100 percent disability rating if discharge conditions were 
dishonorable; however, a veteran may be eligible to receive compensation if discharged under 
"general" or "other than honorable conditions" which do not meet the requirements of the Disabled 
Veterans' Exemption. Requiring verification of honorable discharge will ensure the exemption is 
granted only to qualified persons. 
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Partial Interest Ownership 

Grant the full exemption to the extent of the interest owned by the qualified claimant.  
Reference: Section 205.5(d) 

The assessor must consider the claimant's ownership interest in the property for which the 
exemption is being claimed. A claimant who has only  a partial interest to the property is entitled 
to the full amount of the applicable exemption, up to the value of his or her proportional interest 
in the property. The exemption amount is not reduced to reflect the ownership interest in the 
property (that is, the $100,000 basic exemption is not reduced by 50 percent ($50,000) when 
there is a 50 percent ownership interest). 

Examples: 
 Title to property: 

• 1/2  interest to a disabled veteran claimant and 1/2 interest to a non-disabled person 
 -or- 

• 1/2 interest to disabled veteran and his spouse as joint tenants and 1/2 interest to a single  
non-disabled person 

Assessed 
Value 

Claimant's Ownership 
Interest 

Eligible Basic 
Exemption 

Eligible Low-
Income Exemption 

 $90,000 $90,000 x 50%    =  $45,000       $45,000     $45,000 

 $260,000 $260,000 x 50%  =  $130,000       $100,000     $130,000 

 $400,000 $400,000 x 50%  = $200,000        $100,000     $150,000 

Title to Property: 

• Disabled veteran, spouse, and unmarried son as joint tenants (1/3 interest each) 
 -or- 

• Disabled veteran as to 2/3 interest and non-disabled veteran owner as to 1/3 interest 

Assessed 
Value 

Claimant's Ownership 
Interest 

Eligible Basic 
Exemption 

Eligible Low-
Income Exemption 

 $120,000 $120,000  x .667  =  $80,000  $80,000  $80,000 

 $180,000 $180,000  x .667  =  $120,000  $100,000  $120,000 

 $300,000 $300,000  x .667  =  $200,000   $100,000  $150,000 
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USDVA Rating Letter 

Request a copy of the USDVA rating letter. 

In order to accurately determine whether an initial claim has been filed timely or late, it is 
recommended that the assessor obtain a copy of the veteran's disability rating letter to verify the 
original date of notification, particularly in the case where the USDVA has issued the 
notification letter in a year subsequent to the effective date of the disability. 

Staff should be aware that a one-page summary letter submitted for the proof of disability only 
reflects the date the summary letter was issued; it is not the date the veteran was first notified of 
the disability. Under certain circumstances, such a summary letter may be sufficient when the  
date of the letter has no bearing on determining the timeliness of a claim (that is, when the 
effective date of the exemption is based upon the purchase date of the property or when the 
effective date of disability is in the same year as the date of the summary letter). However, if the 
timeliness of the filing hinges on the date of the notification letter, a copy of the original rating 
letter should be obtained. The assessor should not rely upon the effective date of disability and 
the date the rating letter was received solely on the information provided by the claimant on the 
claim form. These dates must be verified with supporting documents in order for the assessor to 
determine the timeliness of the filing and the correct proration of the exemption for the initial 
qualifying year. 
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Proof of Low Income 

The household income ceiling for the low-income provision of the exemption changes annually; 
therefore, the assessor must receive certification from the claimant that the income criteria is met 
by filing an annual claim. If a claim is not filed, only the basic exemption is available. However,  
a partial low-income exemption may be subsequently granted if a claim is filed late. 

In accordance with section 441(d), documentation to support income information provided to the 
assessor may be requested. The assessor has the authority to require a more detailed account of 
the claimant's income. An assessor may request low-income claimants to complete a household 
income worksheet, signed and certified as to its accuracy, that itemizes the income associated 
with each listed income item. Examples of other documentation to support the claimant's income 
may include but are not limited to: 

• A copy of the first page of the claimant's tax return, plus the claimant's veterans' benefit 
statement (since veterans' benefits are not reportable as taxable income). 

• An end-of-year payroll stub or W-2 statement of earnings for all adult household 
members. 

• Social security benefit statements. 

The assessor should use reasonable judgment as to the circumstances which may warrant more 
sensitive proofs of income. For instance, the assessor may want to validate income where a 
veteran claims the low-income exemption when the veteran is acquiring a high-valued property, 
or if the assessor's records indicate the claimant owns investment or rental property(ies). 


