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March 9, 1988 

TO COUNTY ASSESSORS: 

EFFECT OF CHAPTER 703 (ASSEMBLY BILL 1054) ON PROPERTY 
LEASED TO LIBRARIES, MUSEUMS, PUBLIC SCHOOLS, AND COLLEGES 

Chapter 703 of the Statutes of 1987 (Assembly Bill 1054) became effective on 
January l, 1988. This legislation provides that, under specified 
circumstances and procedures a party leasing property to certain exempt
entities need not annually file an exemption claim on such property nor report 
such property on a business property statement. 

Article XIII, Section 3(d) of the California Constitution and Section 
202(a)(2} and (3) of the California Revenue and Taxation Code provide 
exemption from property taxes for property used for libraries and museums that 
are free and open to the public and property used exclusively for public 
schools, community colleges, state colleges, and. state universities. 

Additionally, Article XIII, Section 3(e) of the Constitution and Section 203 
of the Revenue and Taxation Code provide exemption from property taxes for 
property used exclusively for educational purposes by a nonprofit institution 
of higher education, i.e., college. 

Furthermore, Section 202.2 of the Revenue and Taxation Code provides that any 
reduction in property taxes on leased property used for such libraries and 
museums, public schools, colleges and universities shall inure to the benefit 
of the exempt entity. In Assessors I Letter 79/15 we outlined the procedures 
to effect such exemptions. 

This legislation amends Section 251 of the Revenue and Taxation Code to permit 
one time filing by a lessor in those instances where the exempt entity has the 
option at the termination of the lease to acquire the property described in 
the lease for one dollar ($1) or any other nominal sum. The lessor need only 
to file an affidavit with the assessor within 120 days of the commencement 
date of the lease, or within 120 days of the effective date of this 
legislation in the case of an existing lease, identifying the subject property 
and attesting to the. purchase option. The new law further provi des (vi a 
amendment to Section 442 of the Revenue and Taxation Code) that once the above 
requirements have been complied with the lessor no longer needs to report the 
property on the business property statement. The assessor should enroll the 
property as belonging to the exempt entity. 
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It is important to note the new procedures apply only where leased property is 
used for libraries and museums that are free and open to the public, public 
schools, colleges and universities, and-only when ownership of the leased 
property transfers to the exempt entity for one dollar ($1) or other nominal 
sum upon termination of the lease. If ownership is retained by the lessor or 
the property is merely available for purchase by the exempt entity at, say, 
the current market va1 ue, the procedures outlined in Assessors' Letter 79/15 
apply. The new legi slation does not apply to other exemptions such as the 
welfare, church, or veterans' exemptions. 

We are presently developing the affidavit to be used to permit one time filing 
under such circumstances and hope to have it distributed in the near future. 
We suggest you 
claimants the aff

keep track 
idavit when 

of inquiries on this 
it is available. 

subject so you can send 

If you have 
445-4982. 

any questions, pl ease contact our Exemption Secti on at (916) 

Sincerely, 

Verne Walton, Chief 
Assessment Standards Division 
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